BOOK CLUB

Brown Girl Dreaming Book Club

Overview: Through the joy of reading a variety of fun and interactive activities and live conference calls via zoom we will read, learn and discuss the experiences of a young African American girl growing up in the 60’s and 70’s.

Grade: Rising 5th – 8th

Meeting Dates:
Wednesday June 17, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Wednesday June 24, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Wednesday July 1, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Wednesday July 9, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

The Crossover Book Club

Overview: Through the joy of reading a variety of fun and interactive activities and live conference calls via zoom we will read, learn and discuss a novel about twins Josh and Jordan, family and brotherhood.

Grade: Rising 5th – 8th

Meeting Dates:
Tuesday June 16, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Tuesday June 23, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Tuesday June 30, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Tuesday July 7, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Just Mercy Book Club

Overview: Through the joy of reading a variety of fun and interactive activities and live conference calls via zoom we will read, learn and discuss a novel that explores Bryan Stevenson’s fight for criminal justice reform in America.

Grade: Rising 5th – 8th

Meeting Dates:
Monday, June 15, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Monday, June 22, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Monday, June 29, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Monday, July 6, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Loving vs. Virginia Book Club

Overview: Through the joy of reading a variety of fun and interactive activities and live conference calls via zoom we will read, learn and discuss a novel that explores segregation, prejudice, injustice, discrimination, love, and devotion.

Grade: Rising 5th – 8th

Meeting Dates:
Thursday, June 18, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Thursday, June 25, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 2, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 8, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Wednesday July 1, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Wednesday July 9, 2020 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

A Good Kind of Trouble Book Club

Overview: In a time where voicing your option matters for our youth, A good Kind of Trouble will help your child navigate their voice. They will participate in constructive conversation that will help them harness their voice for the common good.

Grade: Rising 5th – 8th

Meeting Dates:
Monday, June 15 noon – 1:00 PM
Wednesday, June 17 noon – 1:00 PM
Friday, June 19 Noon – 1:00 PM
Monday, June 22 noon – 1:00 PM
Wednesday, June 24 noon – 1:00 PM
Friday, June 26 Noon – 1:00 PM

SOCIAL JUSTICE

The Face of Hunger